Joplin City Council Candidates Forum for the April 5, 2022 ballot, hosted by MSSU’s Bobbie Pottorff

Recorded at Joplin City Council Chambers, March 29, 2022.
Host Bobbie Pottorff, MSSU General Manager, KGCS-21

JOPLIN, Mo. – This was originally recorded and broadcast on MSSU TV KGCS-21, Monday evening March 29, 2022.

Host Bobbie Pottorff is the general manager of MSSU tv, KGCS-21.

Pottorff introduces the forum to candidates and spectators.

  • Each candidate will have one minute to introduce themselves.
  • Questions will be asked to the candidates at random. Each candidate will have two minutes to respond.
  • Five candidates are vying for three general seats:
    • Doug Lawson (incumbent)
    • Kate Spencer
    • Brian J. Evans
    • Josh De Tar
    • Jon Thomas Buck
  • Two candidates for a seat in zone 4:
    • Diane Reid Adams (incumbent)
    • Marc Farnham
  • Gary Shaw runs unopposed in Zone 1.

This program will be rebroadcast on television at 6 p.m. on Thursday and Sunday. It is available on their KGCS-21 Youtube channel. You can also see it on various cable outlets across the region. However, the election will only be decided by those registered to vote within the city limits of Joplin.

It is also available on the City of Joplin website.

Find sample ballots and more information on the elections here.

Melvin B. Baillie